The Green Party holds 14 seats on Solihull Council:
3 in both the Shirley South and Shirley West wards
that are in the Solihull Constituency.
3 in both the Chelmsley Wood and Smith's Wood ward along with 2 in the Castle Bromwich ward that are in the Meriden Constituency,


Cllr James Burn, Chelmsley Wood ward 

0121 243 8108

James was first elected in Chelmsley Wood in May 2014. James is a registered social worker, and has worked in social care and housing for over a decade. He is passionate about seeing the vulnerable protected and the marginalised included at the heart of society. He is an active anti-poverty campaigner.

James is the the Leader of the Green Party Group of Councillors.

Cllr Karl Macnaughton, Chelmsley Wood

Karl Macnaughton
tel. 0121 243 2946

Karl has been involved in community politics for a number of years. He is passionate in fighting the injustice of the difference in attention given to North and South Solihull and is making sure the voices of Chelmsley Wood are heard.


Cllr Chris Williams, Chelmsley Wood

Chris Williams
tel 0121 243 8108, Twitter: @chrisw100

He is passionate on fighting for residents' interests with regards regeneration and working to mitigate the impacts of HS2, which unfortunately is set to pass through Chelmsley Wood.




Cllr Andy Hodgson, Shirley South ward

Andy Hodgson
CONTACT: tel: 07412 041164

Andy was first elected as a Lib Dem Councillor for Shirley South but switched to the Green Party following disappointment with the Coalition Govt and the situation locally. He was re-elected as a Green in 2014 and 2018. 


Andy is particularly focussed on representing his Shirley South constituents in the way that they call for. It was Cllr Hodgson who highlighted the Shirley parking charges planned by the Conservatives, which have been quietly dropped.


 Cllr Max McLaughlin, Shirley South ward

Max McLaughlin


Max was elected in Shirley South in May 2016. He has previously worked in Solihull Council and has run his own training and consultancy business. He is passionate about forging stronger communities and seeing ethical businesses and individuals rewarded. Max cares strongly about protecting and improving public health, education and services as well as looking after housing needs and neighbours wishes sympathetically.


Cllr Maggie Allen, Shirley West ward

Maggie Allen
tel. 07956 995577,
Twitter: @CllrMaggieAllen


Maggie was first elected as a Liberal Democrat in Blythe in 2004 but has since joined the Green Party and was re-elected in the Shirley West ward in May 2016 as a Green Councillor. Maggie has a key interest in the future of Shirley with regards to regeneration and preservation of Shirley Park.
With the failure of the Parkgate scheme Maggie is lobbying for Solihull Council to invest directly in Shirley high street that has seen the highest level of empty shops subsequent to the opening of Parkgate.



Cllr Tim Hodgson, Shirley West ward 

CONTACT: tel. 07507 935 288
Twitter @CllrTimHodgson

Tim was elected in Shirley West in May 2014 and among other things has focussed on getting a good deal for local residents on the redevelopment of the long-time derelict Powergen site.

Tim is the Deputy Leader of the Green Party Group of Councillors and Environment, Housing and Regeneration spokesperson.



Cllr Jean Hamilton, Smith's Wood ward

Jean Hamilton

Jean was elected in Smith's Wood in May 2016.

Jean is the Children, Education & Skills Spokesperson for the Green Party Group of Councillors.



Cllr Ben Groom, Smith's Wood ward

Ben was elected in Smith's Wood in May 2018.


Cllr Mark Wilson, Smith's Wood ward

CONTACT: 07793 069182

Mark was elected in Smith's Wood in May 2015.

Mark is the Stronger Communities & Partnerships Spokesperson for the Green Party group of Councillors.




Cllr Cheryl Buxton-Sait, Castle Bromwich ward


Cheryl was elected in Castle Bromwich in May 2018.




All Councillors can be contacted at:
Solihull Metropolitan Borough Council
Manor Square
B91 3QB